RevPoints Guide

Home › IHG × Revolut cards

IHG × Revolut cards: are Essential or Elite worth it? (2026)

Last verified: 9 August 2026 · Current promotion window: 30 June–25 August 2026

First, the confusion to clear up: the IHG × Revolut cards earn IHG One Rewards points, not RevPoints — and there's no way to convert between the two. If you want RevPoints, you want a regular Revolut plan, not these cards. Launched on 30 June 2026, the co-branded UK debit cards come in two tiers: Essential (free) and Elite (£18/month). The current official promotion page confirms 10,000 and 30,000-point totals for eligible applications from 30 June through 25 August 2026; it does not state replacement totals after that window, so this guide does not project them.

Current published promotion window: eligible applications from 30 June to 25 August 2026 qualify automatically. Essential awards 10,000 IHG points after £1,000 of qualifying spend in three months; Elite awards 30,000 after £3,000 in three months. Revolut's current IHG launch-promotion Help does not state replacement totals after the window.

What is confirmed through 25 August?

The current official Help page states the launch-window totals below. It does not state replacement welcome-offer totals after the window, so the post-window row is deliberately left as a live-terms check.

When you sign upEssentialElite
Through 25 August 202610,000 points after £1,000 qualifying spend in 3 months30,000 points after £3,000 qualifying spend in 3 months
After 25 August 2026Not stated on the current public Help pageNot stated on the current public Help page

Check the live promotion terms for current spend conditions, eligibility and any offer available after 25 August 2026.

The 30-second verdict

Essential (free): a reasonable freebie if you stay at IHG hotels even occasionally — it grants IHG Silver Elite status and its current welcome offer awards 10,000 points after £1,000 of qualifying spend in three months, all on a fee-free card. But its everyday earn rate (0.5 points per £1, worth roughly 0.2p) is thin: Head for Points said at launch it "won't compete with free credit cards".

Elite (£18/month): on points alone it doesn't add up — the extra 1 point per £1 on everyday UK spend over Essential is worth about 0.4p per £1, so the £216 annual fee needs roughly £54,000 of everyday spend to pay for itself. The real case is the perks: Platinum Elite status, 15 Elite Night Credits a year, and the spend milestones up to Diamond status. It's a card for committed IHG guests, not points maximisers.

Review in one line: Essential is a useful free card for occasional IHG guests; Elite's £18 monthly fee only makes sense if you value Platinum status, annual night credits and spend milestones.

Already collecting RevPoints? Per Head for Points, existing Revolut customers can hold an IHG card alongside their existing Revolut debit card — and since the IHG cards earn IHG points only, RevPoints still come from spending on your regular Revolut plan card. See our plan comparison for that side of the maths.

Essential vs Elite vs Revolut Metal

IHG EssentialIHG EliteRevolut Metal (for context)
Monthly feeFree£18£14.99
Currency earnedIHG One Rewards pointsIHG One Rewards pointsRevPoints
Everyday UK spend0.5 pts per £11.5 pts per £11 RevPoint per £2
Approx. value per £1~0.2p~0.6p~0.5–1p (at 1–2p per point via airline transfers)
At participating IHG hotels (UK/Europe)1 pt per £13 pts per £1 (4 until 31 Oct 2026)
IHG statusSilver ElitePlatinum Elite
Welcome offer (sign up by 25 Aug)10,000 pts after £1,000 qualifying spend in 3 months30,000 pts after £3,000 qualifying spend in 3 months

IHG points are commonly valued around 0.4p each — Head for Points valued the 10,000 and 30,000-point welcome offers at £40 and £120. Values are estimates; your redemptions may differ.

Full earn rates

Spend typeEssentialElite
Everyday spend, UK & Europe0.5 pts/£11.5 pts/£1
Everyday spend, outside UK/Europe0.5 pts/£13 pts/£1
IHG hotels, UK & Europe1 pt/£13 pts/£1
IHG hotels, other international1 pt/£14.5 pts/£1
IHG hotels in Canada, Japan, Singapore, Thailand, UAE, USA1 pt/£16 pts/£1

The table shows standard rates, and hotel-spend rates apply at participating IHG hotels. Per the launch coverage, boosted Elite rates on IHG-hotel spend run until 31 October 2026: 4 points per £1 in the UK and Europe, 6 in other international markets, and 9 in the top-tier destinations.

What Elite's £18/month actually buys

Platinum Elite status for as long as you hold the card, plus 15 Elite Night Credits under the card programme terms and each year after (Essential gets 5). Both cards add 1 extra night credit per £4,000 of eligible spend, uncapped.

Spend milestones (Elite only): at £10,000 a year, a Cardmember Choice Reward (5,000 points, two £15 food vouchers, or a suite upgrade); at £15,000, a Flex Night Certificate valid 12 months with a 40,000-point redemption value; at £25,000, a second Choice Reward; at £35,000, Diamond Elite status for the rest of the year and the following year, up to three Confirmable Suite Upgrades, and a 40,000-point free-night voucher.

Elite points-only break-even calculator

Model only the extra everyday UK/Europe earn over Essential: Elite earns 1 additional IHG point per £1. Status, night credits, milestones, overseas rates and hotel spend are deliberately excluded.

Annual fee£216

Extra points vs Essential20,000

Estimated extra value£80

Points-only net−£136

Break-even annual spend£54,000

Illustration, not a cash return or financial recommendation. Change the point value to match your own redemptions.

What's the catch?

A new account if you're not already a customer. Per Head for Points, a Revolut bank account is opened for you during the application if you don't already have one, and it needs to be kept funded — one more account to manage if Revolut isn't your main bank.

Essential's earn rate is thin. At 0.5 points per £1 (~0.2p), everyday spend on Essential earns less than good free credit cards, as Head for Points noted at launch — its value is the status and the welcome points, not the ongoing earn.

The IHG subscription is not an FX-plan upgrade. Revolut's programme terms keep the IHG subscription separate from your underlying Standard, Plus, Premium, Metal or Ultra plan. Head for Points notes that foreign-currency pricing depends on that plan and the day you spend, so check the app rather than assuming an unlimited allowance.

Points are not instant. Revolut says eligible card-spend points are grouped and sent to your linked IHG account on a rolling 14-day cycle.

Physical-card and early-exit costs can apply. Essential is virtual and free, while its optional physical card costs £10 plus delivery. Elite includes a physical metal card, but the published programme terms describe an £18 early-cancellation fee or £39.99 downgrade fee in specified cases within the first six months.

No bridge to RevPoints. IHG points can't become RevPoints or vice versa. RevPoints are the stronger currency per point — roughly 1–2p via airline transfers vs ~0.4p per IHG point. Per pound spent, Metal's ~0.5–1p beats Essential's ~0.2p and is comparable to Elite's ~0.6p on everyday UK spend.

FAQ

Do the IHG × Revolut cards earn RevPoints?

No. They earn IHG One Rewards points only, and there is no conversion between IHG points and RevPoints in either direction. RevPoints come from spending on your regular Revolut plan card.

Can I hold an IHG card and still earn RevPoints?

Yes — per Head for Points, existing Revolut customers can hold an IHG One Rewards debit card alongside their existing Revolut debit card. The IHG card earns IHG points; spending on your regular Revolut plan card is what earns RevPoints.

Is the Elite card worth £18 a month?

Not for points alone — the everyday UK/Europe spend edge over the free Essential card is worth about 0.4p per £1, needing roughly £54,000 of annual UK spend to cover the £216 fee (the gap is bigger on spend outside UK/Europe). It makes sense if you'll actually use Platinum status, the 15 night credits and the spend milestones.

What happens after 25 August 2026?

Revolut's current public Help page does not state replacement welcome-offer totals after 25 August. Check the live terms rather than assuming a future figure. Separately, the boosted Elite earn rates on IHG-hotel spend run until 31 October 2026. We track changes on our news & changes page.

Interested in an IHG × Revolut debit card? Read the live eligibility, fees and promotion terms before applying in the Revolut app.

See the official IHG × Revolut page ↗ Official, untracked Revolut link. This editorial page is independent.

Sources

Core card and promotion terms verified 9 August 2026 against Revolut's IHG programme terms and Revolut's current IHG promotion Help. Supporting background retained from the 7 August review: the official IHG welcome-offer terms, the IHG launch announcement and Head for Points' launch analysis.